President’s Corner


Greetings Sorors & Friends!

 It is with sincere enthusiasm that I welcome you to the virtual home of the prestigious Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated!

Our chapter was chartered by eleven dynamic, focused, and visionary young women as the Xi Sigma Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority in 1927. Among our charter members was Sadie T. M. Alexander, the first National President of our sorority, and the first African-American woman to receive a Ph.D. in economics in the United States. Another trailblazing charter member of our chapter was Anna Johnson Julian, who became our National President in 1929. She was the first African-American woman to earn Phi Beta Kappa at the University of Pennsylvania and be awarded a Ph.D. in Sociology.

As we continue to embrace service through our sisterhood, the Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter has an uncompromising commitment to uphold our extraordinary legacy. Our strong foundation enables us to promote the goals and objectives of our sorority through programs and initiatives designed to support the community at large.

Guided by Delta Sigma Theta Sorority’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust, we proudly serve and impact the lives of Philadelphia residents in the areas of Educational Development, Economic Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health, and Political Awareness and Involvement. The Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter remains devoted to using our collective strengths to develop and sustain effective activities to support those we serve.

Please visit our website frequently to remain abreast of our scheduled events!

Serving with Fortitude!

Dr. Monica Johnson Taylor, President

Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.